Thursday, September 17, 2009

Good Grounds For Books - September meeting

Good Grounds For Books just keeps getting better and better. Anita's and Robin's books both spurned lengthy, intense discussions over the subject matter. I was so blown away that I put both books (and a few suggested by other readers) on request. Want to know what we all read? A list follows.

Amy read. . .

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Limited and persecuted by racial divides in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, three women, including an African-American maid, her sassy and chronically unemployed friend, and a recently graduated white woman, team up for a clandestine project against a backdrop of the budding civil rights era.

Anita read. . .

Palladian Days: finding a new life in a Venetian country houseby Sally Gable

Details how an American couple became the custodians of the Villa Cornaro, a sixteenth-century Palladian villa built by Andrea Palladio in Italy's Veneto region, describing how they learned to live in and care for the great Renaissance palace and its many treasures, as well as the people, customs, markets, and landmarks of the country around them.

Homer and Langley by E.L. Doctorow

A tale inspired by a true story finds the blind Homer Collyer closeted within a once-grand Fifth Avenue mansion with his damaged brother and remembering a life marked by colorful characters, political events, and technological achievements. By the National Book Award-winning author of Billy Bathgate.

Robin read. . .

Columbine by Dave Cullen

In the tradition of HELTER SKELTER and IN COLD BLOOD, COLUMBINE is destined to be a classic. A close-up portrait of hatred, a community rendered helpless, and the police blunders and cover-ups, it is a compelling and utterly human portrait of two killers - an unforgettable cautionary tale for our times.

Elizabeth read. . .

American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House by John Meacham

A thought-provoking study of Andrew Jackson chronicles the life and career of a self-made man who went on to become a military hero and seventh president of the United States, critically analyzing Jackson's seminal role during a turbulent era in history, the political crises and personal upheaval that surrounded him, and his legacy for the modern presidency.

Baking Cakes in Kigali by Gaile Parkin

Rendered a confidant and supportive friend for her willingness to listen to her neighbors in genocide-stricken Rwanda, baker Angel Tungaraza provides decadent confections and transforming counsel to a series of troubled customers. A first novel.

Wife of the Gods by Kwei J. Quartey

Investigating the murder of an AIDS worker in an African community from which his mother went missing years earlier, Detective Inspector Darko Dawson collects details about the killing and realizes that he is close to solving the truth about his mother's disappearance. A first novel.

Among the Mad by Jacqueline Winspear

Having witnessed a suicide on a busy London street, Maisie Dobbs learns that she has been mentioned in a threatening letter to the prime minister and is subsequently recruited by Scotland Yard, while her assistant, Billy, watches his wife slip further into depression. By the author of An Incomplete Revenge.

Joyce read. . .

Provenance: how a con man and a forger rewrote the history of modern art by Laney Salisbury

Recounts the activities of John Drewe, who manipulated struggling artist John Myatt and other unwitting accomplices to become prolific art forgers whose works Drewe successfully passed off as legitimate pieces that still adorn private collections, large galleries, and prestigious museums.

Jane read. . .

Isaac's Storm: a man, a time, and the deadliest hurricane in history by Erik Larson

Provides an in-depth chronicle of America's deadliest hurricane, which struck the city of Galveston, Texas, in 1900 and killed some ten thousand people, drawing on eyewitness accounts of the catastrophe and the writings of one of America's earliest professional weathermen, Isaac Cline.

Missing Witness by Gordon Campbell

Hired by a murder victim's wealthy father to defend the case's chief suspect, Phoenix criminal attorney Dan Morgan endeavors to prove his client's innocence but triggers an unexpected chain of consequences.

No comments: